My Funny Valentine

Manhattan Jazz QuintetSKU: K28P 6410



SLEEVE: NM-  MEDIA: NM-  YEAR: 1986  ORIGIN: Japan  EXTRAS: No obi, has insert

The kind of record that first put the Manhattan Jazz Quintet on the map -- and started a really great run of recordings that ran through the 80s well into the early 90s too! The set's got a fresh approach to older jazz material -- arrangements from pianist David Matthews, who you may know from older funk work with James Brown and Kudu Records -- and who's returning here strongly to an acoustic mode, and shaking off some of the fusion he'd been experimenting with a few years before.

The shift is wonderful -- and Matthews' energy really helps set the group on fire -- a lineup that also includes Lew Soloff on trumpet, George Young on tenor, Eddie Gomez on bass, and Steve Gadd on drums! Titles include "On A Clear Day", "SU Blues", "Mr PC", "Round Midnight", and "New York State Of Mind"


Estimate shipping

You may also like

Recently viewed