"Live" At The Village Vanguard

John ColtraneSKU: VIM-4611



SLEEVE: NM-  MEDIA: NM  YEAR: 1980  ORIGIN: Japan  EXTRAS: No obi, has insert

John Coltrane's Nov. 1-5, 1961 four-night stand at the Village Vanguard in NYC is captured in this set. While most of the selections have been previously released, their restoration is key to understanding his live performances. Joining Coltrane are Eric Dolphy (alto sax, bass clarinet), Garvin Bushell (oboe, contrabassoon), Ahmed Abdul-Malik (oud), McCoy Tyner (piano), Jimmy Garrison and Reggie Workman (basses), Elvin Jones and Roy Haynes (drums) -- all as influential as Coltrane. Nine compositions were picked to contrast varied performances for even casual jazz fans.

Estimate shipping

You may also like

Recently viewed