Vanilla Fudge Biography

American Rock Band Story

Vanilla Fudge is an American hard rock band formed in America in 1965 by guitarist Dick Smith, bassist Bobby Hart, drummer Jim Gordon, and keyboardist Paul Shaffer. They were signed to Epic Records after recording a demo tape. The band was active from 1965 to 1969, with several line-up changes, and released three albums on Epic Records. After the release of their third album, they disbanded.


Vanilla Fudge was formed in 1965 as The Velvetones. This name was suggested by drummer Carmine Appice's friend, bassist Tommy Tedesco, who later changed his name to Tommy Tedesco Jr. They were influenced by 1965 rock bands such as The Beatles and The Who. After releasing their debut album, they were signed by Buddah Records and released the album, The Vanilla Fudge Story.

The band began playing at clubs around Boston. They performed at the Cafe Au Go Go, the Gaslight Cafe, and the Blue Jay Club. In 1965, after the release of their first single, they recorded the album, The Vanilla Fudge Story. The album was released in 1966 and sold around 200,000 copies. The album included the songs "I Got A Woman," "You're Nobody 'Til Somebody Loves You," and "Come And Get These Memories."


Vanilla Fudge is a rock band formed in 1965 by guitarist Bob Martyniuk and singer/bassist Eddie Bond. The band succeeded from late 1967 to early 1970, releasing four albums, two of which reached the Billboard 200. In 1968, the band released an album with the name of Renaissance - Vanilla Fudge. Later on the band split in 1974 and reunited in 1992, releasing a new album and touring in Europe. The band reformed again in 2000 and released two albums. In 2015, the band reunited for the first time since 1974 for a one-off concert.

Their second album, Rock'  N' Roll Circus, featured a more hard-rock sound. It was the band's first gold album, with sales reaching over one million copies. They also had an international hit single with "Come Back Baby."

In the 1970s, they released five albums for Epic before going on hiatus in the 1980s. In the 1990s, the band reformed with new members and re-released their first three albums on their label, The Original Vanilla Fudge. After reuniting again in 2007, the band released their fourth album, A Nice Mess, on their label, Big Break Records. The band is known for its heavy metal sound and distinctive vocal style, described as "vocal gymnastics."

The band split in 1974, and Bond went on to form his group, Eddie Bond & The First, with bassist Nick St. Nicholas. In 1992, the original members reunited for the album, What Goes Around, Comes Around. It marked the first time that the band had reunited since 1974.

In 2000, they released a new album, We're Only in It for the Money, and toured Europe. In the same Year, Vanilla Fudge released the Live at the Fillmore album. The album was a live recording of a performance by the band at the Fillmore Auditorium in San Francisco. The group reunited for a one-off concert in June 2015.

The band's current line-up includes Bond, bassist Tony Brock, keyboardist Michael Graves, guitarist Mike Pinera, and drummer Joe Bonadio. The band has been performing regularly since 2015.

Final Verdict

In conclusion, Vanilla Fudge is a legendary rock band that has played for over 50 years. It is one of the most popular and well-known brands ever. The band has released four albums, all of which have sold over one million copies each and have played to audiences of over 100,000 people. They have appeared at festivals such as Lollapalooza and Bonnaroo.