Other Sounds

Yusef LateefSKU: 7427244912242



Reissue of Yusef Lateef's Other Sounds, originally released in 1959. Other Sounds was the first album on which Yusef Lateef looked beyond the confines of jazz and popular music to hear and perhaps "sing" the music he heard from the East. The album was recorded in 1957 and released two years after on the New Jazz label. The line-up was comprised of Yusef Lateef (tenor saxophone, flute, tambourine, argol), Wilbur Harden (flugelhorn, balloon), Hugh Lawson (piano, Turkish finger cymbals, 7UP bottle, balloon, bells), Ernie Farrow (bass, rabat) and Oliver Jackson (drums, gong, earthboard). Surely one of the forerunners of the so-called "world-music" revolution.

Estimate shipping

You may also like

Recently viewed