SLEEVE: NM-  MEDIA: NM  YEAR: 2016  ORIGIN: US  EXTRAS: First pressing

After the Robert Glasper Experiment's Black Radio albums, remixes and Grammys, the need for exploration led to ArtScience. The album marks a new approach: it was written and produced collectively, with no guest vocalists. Recorded over two weeks in New Orleans, the set reflects the Experiment's signature: "This Is Not Fear" blends post-bop and hip-hop beats, and "Thinkin' About You" is dreamy neo-soul. Postmodern disco "Day to Day" grooves thanks to Derrick Hodge's bassline, and "No One Like You" is expansive jazz-funk. Glasper solos on Herbie Hancock's "Tell Me a Bedtime Story," while "Find You" melds EDM, funk and prog rock with Mike Severson's guitar break. Mark Colenburg's jazz-tinged "In My Mind" is bookended by Steely Dan-influenced "Hurry Slowly" and new wave.

Estimate shipping

You may also like

Recently viewed