Amok (2LP)

Atoms For PeaceSKU: 634904158316



Thom Yorke's Atoms For Peace Amok LP involves long time Radiohead engineer/producer Nigel Godrich (Ultraísta) and bassistFlea (Red Hot Chili Peppers), as well as two session veterans in drummer Joey Waronker (R.E.M., Ultraísta) and percussionist Mauro Refosco (Forro in the Dark). Listeners will be either unnerved or fascinated by the use of Flea's low-throbbing lines, which add warmth, rarely propel, and are sometimes obscured beneath piles of shifting percussion. Given all the thick layering of sounds,Yorke's words -- normally enunciated and mixed in such a way to enable transcription with only a slight headache as a reward -- tend to act as another element rather than as a focal point. The lyrics are in typical Yorke character, consisting of vaguely conveyed altercations and conflicts.

Estimate shipping

You may also like

Recently viewed